Golf Stats: Golfers who have won John Deere Classic golf tournament

The John Deere Classic is a yearly professional golf competition that takes place in July on the PGA Tour, often scheduled the week prior to The Open Championship. This event unfolds at TPC Deere Run, situated in Silvis, Illinois, a part of the Quad Cities region. Established as the Quad Cities Open in 1971, it was initially a satellite event before becoming an official part of the PGA Tour the following year.

From 1975 to 1979, Ed McMahon took the role of hosting the tournament. Various entities, including the Miller Brewing Company (1982–85), Hardee’s (1986–94), and John Deere (1999 onwards) have held the title sponsorship. From 1971 to 1974, the tournament was held at the Crow Valley Country Club in Davenport, Iowa. 

It then shifted to the Oakwood Country Club in Coal Valley, Illinois, where it continued from 1975 to 1999. Since the turn of the millennium in 2000, the tournament found a home at the TPC at Deere Run in Silvis. The event garnered additional media attention in 2005 and 2006 due to the sponsor exemptions granted to young golf prodigy, Michelle Wie.

Interesting facts about the John Deere Classic golf tournament

The 2013 tournament was marked by Jordan Spieth’s historic win, becoming the first teenager since 1931 to secure victory on the PGA Tour, just two weeks before his 20th birthday. Following the implementation of the Open Qualifying Series, the John Deere Classic provides the last opportunity for players, who aren’t already exempt, to secure a place in The Open if they rank within the top five. 

A charter flight, sponsored by the John Deere Classic since 2008, transports golfers from the Quad Cities to Britain by Monday morning in order to accommodate players competing in the Open Championship the following week. With the 2023 edition of the John Deere Classic golf tournament set to be held at the TPC Deere Run from July 6 to July 9, offering a total purse of $7,400,000, let’s take a look at the winners of the John Deere Classic over the years.

Golfers who have won John Deere Classic golf tournament

YearWinnerScoreTo par
2022J. T. Poston263−21
2021Lucas Glover265−19
2019Dylan Frittelli263−21
2018Michael Kim257−27
2017Bryson DeChambeau266−18
2016Ryan Moore262−22
2015Jordan Spieth264−20
2014Brian Harman262−22
2013Jordan Spieth265−19
2012Zach Johnson264−20
2011Steve Stricker262−22
2010Steve Stricker258−26
2009Steve Stricker264−20
2008Kenny Perry268−16
2007Jonathan Byrd266−18
2006John Senden265−19
2005Sean O’Hair268−16
2004Mark Hensby268−16
2003Vijay Singh268−16
2002J. P. Hayes262−22
2001David Gossett265−19
2000Michael Clark II265−19
1999J. L. Lewis261−19
1998Steve Jones263−17
1997David Toms265−15
1996Ed Fiori268−12
1995D. A. Weibring197 (Shortened to 54 holes due to rain)−13
1994Mark McCumber265−15
1993David Frost259−21
1992David Frost266−14
1991D. A. Weibring267−13
1990Joey Sindelar268−12
1989Curt Byrum268−12
1988Blaine McCallister261−19
1987Kenny Knox265−15
1986Mark Wiebe268−12
1985Dan Forsman267−13
1984Scott Hoch266−14
1983Danny Edwards266−14
1982Payne Stewart268−12
1981Dave Barr270−10
1980Scott Hoch266−14
1979D. A. Weibring266−14
1978Victor Regalado269−15
1977Mike Morley267−17
1976John Lister268−16
1975Roger Maltbie275−9
1974Dave Stockton271−13
1973Sam Adams268−16
1972Deane Beman279−5
1971Deane Beman277−7

More Golf Stats-

  1. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of Rocket Mortgage Classic tournament?
  2. Golf Stats: Non-British golfers who conquered the British Masters
  3. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the BMW International Open?
  4. Golf stats: Who are the past winners of KLM Dutch Open?