Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

FedEx St. Jude Championship Stats: USA golfers who have won the prestigious event

The FedEx St. Jude Championship, known originally as the Westchester Classic, has a history dating back to 1967 on the PGA Tour. It stands as a significant event in the world of professional golf, especially since it became the inaugural tournament of the playoff system for the FedEx Cup in 2007. Since that time, participation has been limited to the top 70 players in the FedEx Cup points rankings at the conclusion of the regular season, a notable change from the prior inclusion of the top 125 players up until 2023.

Tracing its roots to Westchester, this popular tournament started from a local pro-am event held at The Apawamis Club in Rye, New York. The founder, William Mitchell Bill Jennings, managed to attract top talent before moving the tournament from Apawamis in 1961, and integrated it with the Thunderbird Classic. From 1976 onwards, the event went through various changes in name sponsorship. By 1990, the name of the event had changed so much that it no longer bore any reference to its host course or original location. It remained popular as the Westchester Classic among touring golfers and fans.

Tournament’s Sponsor and Winners

The PGA Tour event has been known by several sponsor-influenced titles over the years, including The Northern Trust, The Barclays, and the Buick Classic. A significant shift occurred for the 2021-22 season when the event was moved to TPC Southwind in Memphis, Tennessee. With FedEx taking over as the title sponsor, the tournament was rebranded as the FedEx St. Jude Championship.

The championship has a remarkable list of winners, featuring many of the best golfers in the world. Sergio García, Adam Scott, Jason Day, Matt Kuchar, Patrick Reed, Dustin Johnson, and Bryson DeChambeau, the 2018 champion, who all lifted the trophy. DeChambeau’s win was noteworthy as he clinched a four-stroke victory and became the tournament’s youngest winner in the FedEx Cup era.

USA golfers who have won the FedEx St. Jude Championship

With the 2023 edition taking place from Aug 10 to Aug 13, 2023, let’s take a look at the FedEx St. Jude Championship’s winners from the United States.

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin ofvictory
2022Will Zalatoris265−15Playoff
2021Tony Finau264−20Playoff
2020Dustin Johnson 254−3011 strokes
2019Patrick Reed268−161 stroke
2018Bryson DeChambeau266−184 strokes
2017Dustin Johnson 267−13Playoff
2016Patrick Reed275−91 stroke
2014Hunter Mahan270−142 strokes
2012Nick Watney274−103 strokes
2011Dustin Johnson194−192 strokes
2010Matt Kuchar272−12Playoff
2009Heath Slocum275−91 stroke
2007Steve Stricker268−162 strokes
2003Jonathan Kaye271−13Playoff
2002Chris Smith272−122 strokes
2000Dennis Paulson276−8Playoff
1999Duffy Waldorf276−8Playoff
1998J. P. Hayes201−12Playoff
1994Lee Janzen268−163 strokes
1991Billy Andrade273−112 strokes
1990Hale Irwin269−152 strokes
1987J. C. Snead276−8Playoff
1986Bob Tway272−121 stroke
1985Roger Maltbie275−9Playoff
1984Scott Simpson269−155 strokes
1982Bob Gilder261−195 strokes
1981Raymond Floyd275−91 stroke
1980Curtis Strange273−112 strokes
1979Jack Renner277−71 stroke
1978Lee Elder274−101 stroke
1977Andy North272−122 strokes
1975Gene Littler271−17Playoff
1974Johnny Miller269−192 strokes
1973Bobby Nichols272−16Playoff
1972Jack Nicklaus270−183 strokes
1971Arnold Palmer270−185 strokes
1969Frank Beard275−131 stroke
1968Julius Boros272−161 stroke
1967Jack Nicklaus272−161 stroke

More Golf Stats-
1. Wyndham Championship Stats: USA golfers to have won the prestigious tournament
2. Women’s Scottish Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious event
3. 3M Open Stats: Golfers who have claimed the prestigious event