Canadian Women’s Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious title

The Canadian Women’s Open, known as the CPKC Women’s Open for sponsorship reasons, is a leading women’s golf competition in Canada. The event is run by Golf Canada and it has served as Canada’s national championship since it was started in 1973 and is part of the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) Tour.

The format of the tournament has evolved over the years. Initially, it consisted of three rounds, but since 1978 it’s been a four-round event. For more than two decades, from 1979 to 2000, the tournament was considered one of the four major championships on the LPGA Tour. However, it lost its major status in 2001 when it was replaced by the Women’s British Open.

In 2007 and 2008, the champion of the Canadian Women’s Open automatically qualified for the LPGA Tour Championship, which was the season’s final tournament. However, this practice was discontinued in 2009. Financially, it was one of the most rewarding LPGA Tour events from 2007 to 2009, coming in third after the U.S. Women’s Open and France’s Evian Masters. Even after some reductions in the prize money, the purse remains impressive at $2.25 million.

Read More – FedEx St. Jude Championship Stats: USA golfers who have won the prestigious event

Event’s Major Sponsors

The event has had different sponsors over the years. The Bank of Montreal took over as the main sponsor in 2001 and named the event the BMO Canadian Women’s Open. In 2013, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company became the title sponsor, later boosting the prize money to $2.25 million. After merging with Kansas City Southern Railway in 2023, the event is now known as the CPKC Women’s Open.

Know lesser known facts about past winners of the Canadian Women’s Open

In Canadian Women’s Open 2012, Lydia Ko made headlines by becoming the youngest player ever to win an LPGA Tour event at just 15. She broke the record again the following year, and won her third title in 2015. Additionally, in 2018, Brooke Henderson became the first Canadian woman since 1973 to win the championship, which made her only the second ever Canadian champion.

Golfers who have won the Canadian Women’s Open

Let’s take a look at the past winners of the competition, including the 2023 edition of the event. The list only includes winners from 2001.

YearChampionCountryScoreTo parMarginof victory
2022Paula Reto (South Africa)South Africa265−191 stroke
2019Ko Jin-young (South Korea)South Korea262−265 strokes
2018Brooke Henderson (Canada)Canada267−214 strokes
2017Park Sung-hyun (South Korea)South Korea271−132 strokes
2016Ariya Jutanugarn (Thailand)Thailand265−234 strokes
2015Lydia Ko (New Zealand)New Zealand276−12Playoff
2014Ryu So-yeon (South Korea)South Korea265−232 strokes
2013Lydia Ko (New Zealand)New Zealand265−155 strokes
2012Lydia Ko (New Zealand)New Zealand275−133 strokes
2011Brittany Lincicome (United States)United States275−131 stroke
2010Michelle Wie (United States)United States276−123 strokes
2009Suzann Pettersen (Norway)Norway269−155 strokes
2008Katherine Hull (Australia)Australia277−111 stroke
2007Lorena Ochoa (Mexico)Mexico268−163 strokes
2006Cristie Kerr (United States)United States276−121 stroke
2005Meena Lee (South Korea)South Korea279−91 stroke
2004Meg Mallon (United States)United States270−184 strokes
2003Beth Daniel (United States)United States276−131 stroke
2002Meg Mallon (United States)United States284−43 strokes
2001Annika Sörenstam (Sweden)Sweden272−162 strokes

More Golf Stats-
1. Women’s Scottish Open Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious event
2. ISPS Handa World Invitational Stats: Golfers who have won the prestigious tournament