BMW Championship Stats: Golfers who have conquered the PGA Tour

The BMW Championship, a golf event on the PGA Tour for professionals, is the second-to-last hurdle in the intense FedEx Cup playoff race. This tournament, inaugurated in 2007, previously had the name “Western Open.” The Western Golf Association (WGA), the organization behind the creation and execution of the Western Open, is still responsible for overseeing the BMW Championship to ensure its rich legacy remains intact. 

Between 2012 and 2014, the PGA Tour crowned the BMW Championship as its “Tournament of the Year” three times in a row. Furthermore, besides the renowned major tournaments, the BMW Championship holds the title of the longest-standing regular event on the PGA Tour.

Golf enthusiasts first experienced the Western Open about a staggering 124 years ago. The tournament frequently changed venues within Illinois, a state in the Midwestern United States, before it permanently established itself in Chicago. Despite its name change, the WGA’s commitment to this championship hasn’t wavered since its inception. 

While the Western Open operated like most PGA Tour events and even once held the status of a major, the BMW Championship is a distinct event. It integrates itself into the FedEx Cup Playoffs and exclusively welcomes those players who have risen to the top of the FedEx Cup points chart by the time the event starts.

Significance of the BMW Championship

Post the FedEx St. Jude Championship, the BMW Championship becomes the playground for top-scoring players in the FedEx Cup. Up until 2022, this meant the top 70 players. However, the rules have since tightened and allow only the elite 50 to participate. There is no 36-hole cut in the tournament. After playing the BMW Championship, the 30 highest-ranked players gear up for the Tour Championship. Here, they will aim for the title of the FedEx Cup champion.

The 2023 edition of the prestigious event

The 2023 edition of the BMW Championship got underway from August 17 to August 20, 2023, at the Olympia Fields North Course with a total purse of $20,000,000. Rory McIlroy, Scottie Scheffler, Jon Rahm, Patrick Cantlay, Viktor Hovland, Tommy Fleetwood, Max Homa, and many more prominent golfers comprise the strong field at the BMW Championship 2023. With this let’s take a look at the list of the past winners.

YearWinner (Country)ScoreTo parMargin of victory
2022Patrick Cantlay (United States)270−141 stroke
2021Jon Rahm (Spain)261−27Playoff
2020Justin Thomas (United States)276−4Playoff
2019Keegan Bradley (United States)263−253 strokes
2018Marc Leishman (Australia)260−20Playoff
2017Dustin Johnson (United States)261−235 strokes
2016Jason Day (Australia)265−233 strokes
2015Billy Horschel (United States)262−226 strokes
2014Zach Johnson (United States)266−142 strokes
2013Rory McIlroy (Northern Ireland)268−162 strokes
2012Justin Rose (England)268−202 strokes
2011Dustin Johnson (United States)271−132 strokes
2010Tiger Woods (United States)275−91 stroke
2009Camilo Villegas (Colombia)265−198 strokes
2008Tiger Woods (United States)265−152 strokes
2007Tiger Woods262−222 strokes

More Golf stats-
1. Wyndham Championship Stats: USA golfers to have won the prestigious tournament
2. Golf Stats: Who are the past winners of the BMW International Open?
3. 3M Open Stats: Golfers who have claimed the prestigious event