Barracuda Championship Stats: Golfers who have excelled at the prestigious event

The Barracuda Championship is a well-established professional golf tournament held on the PGA Tour in California. It was established in 1999 and has been an annual event in August, serving as an alternate tournament. Initially hosted at Montrêux Golf and Country Club near Reno, Nevada, the championship changed its venue in 2020 to the Tahoe Mountain Club’s Old Greenwood course in Truckee, California.

During its early years, the tournament featured a full field of 156 players, while the World Golf Championship event had a much smaller field of approximately 40 players. However, as the WGC event expanded to about 80 players in 2002, the Barracuda Championship, previously called the Reno–Tahoe Open, reduced its field to 132 players. The event’s schedule was adjusted with the introduction of the FedEx Cup in 2007. It, thus, moved both the Reno–Tahoe Open and the WGC event from late August to early August.

The winner of the Barracuda Championship receives valuable rewards, including 24 Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) points, 300 FedEx Cup points, a two-year tour exemption, and an invitation to the prestigious PGA Championship. Excitingly, starting from 2022, the event is set to become a co-sanctioned tournament with the European Tour.

Highlights from the event

The tournament’s inaugural event (1999) saw Notah Begay III emerge as the first-ever champion. In 2006, Yūsaku Miyazato etched his name in PGA Tour history by achieving a remarkable feat. He became only the second player in PGA Tour history to score not just one but two holes-in-one in a single round. In 2011, Scott Piercy clinched a victory in the final year of the tournament as a stroke play event. 

In 2016, Greg Chalmers, with a spectacular eagle on the 18th hole, secured entry into the prestigious Open Championship. Chalmers’ win was particularly special as it came after 386 starts on the PGA Tour, making him the most experienced active golfer without a previous victory. Planning to retire at season’s end, Chris Stroud found renewed inspiration and secured his first PGA Tour win in his 290th start. 

The 2019 edition saw a young prodigy, Collin Morikawa, in just his sixth professional start, birdying the last three holes to claim victory. Beginning in 2012, the Barracuda Championship introduced the Modified Stableford scoring system. This rewards the players with points in the following manner – Double Eagle: +8 points (3 strokes under par), Eagle: +5 points (2 strokes under par), Birdie: +2 points (1 stroke under par), Par: 0 points (even with par), Bogey: -1 point (1 stroke over par), Double Bogey or worse: -3 points (2 strokes or more over par).

Golfers who have excelled at the Barracuda Championship

With the Barracuda Championship 2023 already kicked off, let’s take a look at the winners of the esteemed event.

YearWinnerScore/ PointsTo parMargin ofvictory
2022Chez Reavie (United States)43 points1 point
2021Erik van Rooyen (South Africa)50 points5 points
2020Richy Werenski (United States)39 points1 point
2019Collin Morikawa (United States)47 points3 points
2018Andrew Putnam (United States)47 points4 points
2017Chris Stroud (United States)44 pointsPlayoff
2016Greg Chalmers (Australia)43 points6 points
2015J. J. Henry (United States)47 pointsPlayoff
2014Geoff Ogilvy (Australia)49 points5 points
2013Gary Woodland (United States)44 points9 points
2012J. J. Henry (United States)43 points1 point
2011Scott Piercy (United States)273−151 stroke
2010Matt Bettencourt (United States)277−111 stroke
2009John Rollins (United States)271−173 strokes
2008Parker McLachlin (United States)270−187 strokes
2007Steve Flesch (United States)273−155 strokes
2006Will MacKenzie (United States)268−201 stroke
2005Vaughn Taylor (United States)267−213 strokes
2004Vaughn Taylor (United States)278−10Playoff
2003Kirk Triplett (United States)271−173 strokes
2002Chris Riley (United States)271−17Playoff
2001John Cook (United States)271−171 stroke
2000Scott Verplank (United States)275−13Playoff
1999Notah Begay III (United States)274−143 strokes

More Golf Stats-

  1. Barbasol Championship Stats: A walk down the winner’s lane
  2. Scottish Open stats: Who are the previous winners of the reputed golf tournament?
  3. Dana Open stats: Who are the past winners of the esteemed golf competition?