Barbasol Championship Stats: A walk down the winner’s lane

Established in 2015, the Barbasol Championship is a significant event on the PGA Tour, held in Kentucky. It shared its July scheduling with the UK’s The Open Championship. For the first three years, Alabama’s Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail played host, making it the first PGA Tour event in Alabama since the 1990 PGA Championship. The year 2018 marked a venue change to the Keene Trace Golf Club, Nicholasville, Kentucky. It was a milestone as the first PGA Tour event, except the majors, held in Kentucky in nearly six decades, following the 1959 Kentucky Derby Open.

The Barbasol Championship, while an alternate event, doesn’t grant its champion an automatic invite to the Masters and offers a smaller point pool due to its less challenging lineup. The champion does reap a two-year exemption on the PGA Tour and an invite to the PGA Championship. In an announcement made in 2021, it was revealed that from 2022, the Barbasol Championship would be co-sanctioned with the European Tour, and timed to coincide with the Genesis Scottish Open. Furthermore, it would provide the leading non-exempt player with an opportunity to participate in The Open Championship.

Recent edition of the Barbasol Championship

Located in Nicholasville, the 2023 edition of this event is scheduled for July 13-16 and will unfold at the Champions course of the Keene Trace Golf Club. This golf course, a creation of the renowned architect Arthur Hills, is situated an hour’s distance from both Cincinnati and Louisville. In 2022, the Barbasol Championship stood as one of the 52 exclusive PGA TOUR tournaments and offered its winner 300 FedEx Cup Points and a coveted spot at the Open Championship in 2022. The 2022 edition of the Barbasol Championship saw Trey Mullinax emerge as the winner.

The Barbasol Championship 2023 is scheduled as the 39th fixture of the 2022-2023 PGA Tour’s regular season. It presents a lucrative opportunity for golfers, with a prize pool of $3.8 million and crucial Official World Golf Ranking points up for grabs. Renowned golfers like Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Akshay Bhatia, Jonas Blixt, Justin Lower,  Taylor Pendrith, and the list continues will be among the prominent competitors participating in this edition. However, the previous year’s champion, Mullinax, will not be returning to the greens to retain his title.

Who are the past winners of the Barbasol Championship?

YearWinner (Country)ScoreTo parMarginWinner’s share ($)
2022Trey Mullinax (United States)263-251 stroke666,000
2021Séamus Power (Republic of Ireland)267-21Playoff630,000
2019Jim Herman (United States)262-261 stroke630,000
2018Troy Merritt (United States)265-231 stroke630,000
2017Grayson Murray (United States)263-211 stroke630,000
2016Aaron Baddeley (Australia)266-18Playoff630,000
2015Scott Piercy (United States)265-193 strokes630,000

More Golf Stats-

  1. Scottish Open stats: Who are the previous winners of the reputed golf tournament?
  2. Dana Open stats: Who are the past winners of the esteemed golf competition?
  3. Golf Stats: Non-USA Golfers who have won the US Women’s Open title