La Liga: Teams with Most Points in a Season

Formed in 1929, La Liga has been the home to spectacular teams, players and matches over the years. La Liga has also seen itself being the most successfully represented league in European Competitions. The 2021/22 La Liga season was another splendid Spanish campaign. The most successful side in the competition, Real Madrid once again emerged triumphant winning their 35th title amassing 86 points in the process.

Data Last Updated: July 18, 2022
S. NoTeamSeasonPointsCoachPosition that SeasonNumber of games wonGoal DifferenceGoals Scored
1Real Madrid2011-12100Jose Mourinho13289121
2Barcelona2012-13100Tito Vilanova13275115
3Barcelona2009-1099Pep Guardiola1317498
4Real Madrid2009-1096Manuel Pelligrini23167102
5Barcelona2010-1196Pep Guardiola1307495
6Barcelona2014-1594Luis Enrique13089110
7Real Madrid2016-1793Zinedine Zidane12965106
8Barcelona2017-1893Ernesto Valverde1287099
9Real Madrid2010-1192Jose Mourinho22969102
10Real Madrid2014-1592Carlo Ancelotti23080118
11Barcelona2011-1291Pep Guardiola22885114
12Barcelona2015-1691Luis Enrique12983112
13Barcelona2016-1790Luis Enrique22879116
14Real Madrid2015-1690Rafael Benitez/ Zinedine Zidane22876110
15Real Madrid1987-8890Leo Beenhakker1286995

Carlo Ancelotti’s side were the most consistent team in the land and rightly reaped the results for it. Several players and coaches have described La Liga as one of the toughest and most competitive leagues in the world. This competitiveness has brought some thrilling battles and title races over La Liga’s illustrious history. Now let’s have a look at the maximum number of points achieved by a club within a single La Liga season.