FIFA The Best Awards: Last 10 Best Men’s and Women’s Player Award winners

The Best FIFA Football Awards felicitate the world’s best footballers of the year. The awards are presented by FIFA in Zurich, Switzerland and this year’s awards were held on the 27th of February 2023. This year’s awards were dominated by the Argentinians as Lionel Messi won The Best FIFA Men’s Player award, Emiliano Martinez won the The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award and Lionel Scaloni won the The Best FIFA Men’s Coach award. FIFA also announced the Men’s World 11 which featured Thibaut Courtois. Achraf Hakimi, Virgil van Dijk, João Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne, Casemiro, Luka Modrić, Lionel Messi, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe.

The women’s award ceremony took place on the same day as Alexia Putelles won The Best FIFA Women’s Player award for the second time in a row. Mary Earps of Manchester City won The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper award and England’s coach Sarina Wiegman won The Best FIFA Women’s Coach award. The Best FIFA award winners are chosen through a combined voting method in which captains and head coaches of national teams from all over the world contribute 50% of the decision-making. The remaining 50% is evenly divided between votes cast by football fans in an online public ballot and entries from a select group of international media representatives.

Read More: World Cup stats: Most goals scored in a single edition of World Cup

Last 10 FIFA The Best Men’s Players

Lionel Messi’s World Cup winning performances in Qatar and his contribution in the Ligue 1 side, Paris Saint German helped the Argentinian win his seventh FIFA The Best Men’s Player award. This award helped him break a record tie of The Best Players award (of either gender) which was jointly held by him and Brazil’s Marta. Robert Lewandowski had won this award twice in a row (2021 and 2020) due to his outstanding performances with German side Bayern Munich. After Lionel Messi, the player who’s won the most The Best Men’s Player award is Cristiano Ronaldo who won the award in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2017: Luka Modric won the award in 2018 thanks to his performances with Spanish side Real Madrid and Croatia in the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

For the second consecutive year, Alexia Putellas has taken home the Best FIFA Women’s Player award. The midfielder from Spain has been recognised for her outstanding 2021-2022, during which time she led Barcelona to a domestic triple and a spot in the UEFA Women’s Champions League final. Nadine Angerer, who was 35 when she won in 2013, is the oldest recipient of the award. Moreover, she is the only goalkeeper to have received either the women’s or the men’s best player award. Marta, who won in 2006 at the age of 20, is the youngest winner. From 2006 to 2010, she won the prize five times in a row. It took another eight years before she won it a record-breaking sixth time in 2018.

Player NameCountryClubYear
Lionel MessiArgentinaParis Saint Germain2022
Robert LewandowskiPolandBayern Munich2021
Robert LewandowskiPolandBayern Munich2020
Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona2019
Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid2018
Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid2017
Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid2016
Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona2015
Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid2014
Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid2013

Last 10 FIFA The Best Women’s Players

Player NameCountryClubYear
Alexia PutellasSpainFC Barcelona2022
Alexia PutellasSpainFC Barcelona2021
Lucy BronzeEnglandManchester City2020
Megan RapinoeUSAReign FC2019
MartaBrazilOrlando Pride2018
Lieke MartensNetherlandsFC Barcelona2017
Carli LloydUSAHouston Dash2016
Carli LloydUSAHouston Dash2015
Nadine KesslerGermanyVfL Wolfsburg2014
Nadine AngererGermanyBrisbane Roar2013