Top 5 biggest sixes in Indian Premier League history

Indian Premier League has seen plenty of players take the aggressive approach right from the ball, The Indian grounds tend to have shorter boundaries compared to grounds in Australia, England and a few other countries. The players have enjoyed this and have hit some lusty blows, since the start of the competition, the IPL has seen some very massive sixes being hit and the power striking only becomes more intense over the years. The visual of watching a batter dance down the pitch and dispatch the ball out of the ground is one of the most exciting things for a cricket fan and spectator.

In a tournament like IPL, every team needs some players who can hit big sixes at will and each year, we have seen different players tonk the ball out of the stadium. Albie Morkel created history by hitting a 125-meter six against Deccan Chargers in the year 2008. Many players have got close to the mark but haven’t been able to break the record. Let’s look back at some biggest sixes hit in this glamourous Indian Premier League.

Read More: Top 5 highest individual scores in Indian Premier League history

List of the 5 longest sixes in the Indian Premier League

1. Albie Morkel – 125 meters vs Deccan Chargers

In the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League, Albie Morkel hit a monstrous blow in the slog overs against the Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad, the 125-meter six came from the bowling of Pragyan Ojha. The 1st season of the IPL saw some big hits and this was the biggest of them all.

2. Praveen Kumar 124 meters vs Mumbai Indians

Surprisingly, the former Indian fast bowler Praveen Kumar, takes the second spot on the list of longest sixes ever hit in the history of the Indian Premier League. What’s more surprising is that Kumar smashed Mumbai Indians ace bowler Lasith Malinga for a 124-meter over long-off in a match between MI and KXIP in 2013 edition of the Indian Premier League.

3. Adam Gilchrist 122 meters vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Gilchrist was in prime form for the Kings XI Punjab in the 2011 season of the Indian Premier League, he picked up a slower delivery by Charl Langeveldt and deposited him for a 122-meter six at the Dharamsala Stadium.

Read More: Top 5 highest individual scores in Indian Premier League history

4. Robin Uthappa 120 meters vs Mumbai Indians

Robin Uthappa is in the 4th position on the list, Uthappa picks up a length ball early and deposits it in the crowd at the Wankhede Stadium. Dwayne Bravo was on the receiving end, he was playing for the Mumbai Indians in the 2010 season and had an earnt a reputation for being one of the hardest bowlers to face in the shortest format.

5. Chris Gayle – 119 meters vs Rising Pune Super Giants

The list wouldn’t be complete without the mention of Chris Gayle. His 119m six is the fifth-longest six in IPL history, Ashok Dinda of Rising Pune Super Giants was at the receiving end. Yuvraj Singh and Ross Taylor have also matched the 119-meter distance in the tournament and share the 5th spot with the West Indian legend.

Top 5 biggest sixes in the IPL

2008Albie MorkelCSK125
2013Praveen KumarKXIP124
2011Adam GilchristKXIP122
2010Robin UthappaRCB120
2013Chris GayleRCB119
5 biggest sixes in IPL history

Read More: Top 10 scores in Indian Premier League history