IPL Stats: Top 5 Most runs conceded in an over

It’s been over a decade since the IPL set foot into the cricketing world and its evolution has led to exciting cricket being played. The batters have got more aggressive over the years and the bowlers have suffered throughout. In a tournament like IPL, every team needs players who can maximize an over and get as many runs as possible and some have turned up and got more than what was expected from the team management.

The Indian grounds tend to have shorter boundaries compared to other grounds across the globe, the players have enjoyed this and have hit some lusty blows, the IPL has seen some phenomenal power hitting, some players have targetted a particular bowler and have taken him to the cleaners. Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja jointly hold the record for most runs in an over in the Indian Premier League. Let’s have a look at the list of the top 5 most runs conceded in an over.

Read More: Top 5 biggest sixes in Indian Premier League history

List of the most runs conceded in an over

1. Chris Gayle 37 runs vs Prasanth Parameswaran

Chris Gayle shamed Prasant Parameswaran in a day game at the Chinnaswamy Stadium against the Kochi Tuskers Kerala in the year 2011. Parameswaran conceded a no-ball on the second ball of the over and Gayle capitalised on the opportunity, hammering him for three fours and two sixes in the remaining over to make it a 37-run over.

2. Ravindra Jadeja 37 runs vs Harshal Patel

Ravindra Jadeja equalled Gayle’s 37 in the 2021 season of the Indian Premier League against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Mumbai. It was Harshal Patel, who was at the receiving end. Harshal had picked three wickets from his first three overs and conceded just 14 runs before Ravindra Jadeja smashed him to all parts of the ground, the right-arm pacer had no answers to the onslaught.

3. Pat Cummins 35 runs vs Daniel Sams

Pat Cummins smoked 35 runs against his Australian teammate, Daniel Sams and also got the joint-fastest fifty in IPL. Cummins was playing his first match in IPL 2022 against Mumbai Indians, Cummins smashed 56 runs off 15 balls, including 35 runs in the 16th over.

Read More: Top 5 highest individual scores in Indian Premier League history

4. Suresh Raina 33 runs vs Parvinder Awana

Suresh Raina was at his explosive best in the second qualifier of the 2014 season of the IPL. Raina cracked 32 runs in one of the then Kings XI Punjab pacer, Parwinder Awana’s over. The left-handed batter hit five fours and two sixes in that over of seven balls, which included a no-ball as well.

5. Chris Gayle and Manoj Tiwary 33 runs vs Ravi Bopara

It was in 2010 when Gayle smashed Ravi Bopara for 32 runs in the 13th over of the game, Manoj Tiwary took a single of the first ball and handed the strike to the big man from Jamaica who smoked the ball to all parts of the stadium and got a total of 33 runs in the over.

IPL: Top 5 most runs conceded in an over

PlayerAgainstTeamRuns Conceded
Chris GaylePrasanth ParameswaranRCB37
Ravindra JadejaHarshal PatelCSK37
Pat CumminsDaniel SamsKKR35
Suresh RainaParvinder AwanaCSK33
Chris Gayle and Manoj TiwaryRavi BoparaKKR33
Most runs conceded in an over in the IPL

Read More: Top 10 scores in Indian Premier League history