IPL Stats: Top 10 Powerplay team scores in the IPL History

Powerplay is a name given for the fielding restrictions in limited-overs cricket. The powerplay rule and some of the other factors like larger bats and bringing the boundary lines in on small grounds have contributed towards some big scorers in T20 cricket. The batters have capitalised on the Powerplay rule in the first 6 overs and have attacked from the get-go. Teams generally like to take the attacking route in the Powerplay and aim for taking advantage early on in their innings. Over the years, the new ball has not swung as much as it did a few years ago, this has allowed the batter to go hard right from the 1st over of the game or innings.

Each IPL season is packed with loads of entertainment and drama. Teams that have managed to score the most runs in powerplay have gone on to perform outstandingly in the match. In 2017, history was made when Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine from Kolkata Knight Riders recorded the highest powerplay score in IPL history against the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. It has become a norm for teams to play aggressive cricket in the powerplay, some have been very successful at this and have smashed over 100 runs in the powerplay and some have faulted and fallen well short of the desired target.

Read More: Top 5 highest individual scores in Indian Premier League history

List of Top 10 powerplay scores in IPL

1. Kolkata Knight Riders 105/0 vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

Kolkata Knight Riders hold the record for the highest powerplay score in IPL History. In 2017 at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Sunil Narine came to open the innings along with Chris Lynn for the Kolkata Knight Riders and smashed the RCB bowlers to all parts of the ground, scoring a mammoth 105 in 6 overs.

2. Chennai Super Kings 100/0 vs Kings XI Punjab

Chennai Super Kings takes the second spot on the list of top 10 IPL powerplay scores. Chasing a huge target of 227 against Kings XI Punjab, CSK took the attack right from the first bowl of the chase. Suresh Raina played an unbelievable knock of 87 runs in just 25 balls which helped CSK score 100 runs in the powerplay.

3. Chennai Super Kings 90/0 vs Mumbai Indians

Chennai Super Kings smashed 90/0 at Wankhede Stadium in 2015. Chasing a target of 184, Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Smith took CSK off to a flying start and cracked 90 runs in the first six overs which was highly entertaining to watch.

4. Kochi Tuskers Kerala 87/2 vs Rajasthan Royals

Kochi Tuskers Kerala was the new franchise introduced to the Indian Premier League, they scored 87/2 against Rajasthan Royals in the year 2011 and made the cricket world take notice of their arrival.

5. Kings XI Punjab 86/1 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Chasing a score of over 200 against the SRH in 2014, Kings XI Punjab smashed the ball to every part of the ground despite losing an early wicket. Wriddhiman scored 52 from 23 while Manan Vohra added 29 off 11 deliveries, helping their team get to 86/1 in the powerplay.

6. Mumbai Indians 84/0 vs Delhi Daredevils

In IPL 2018, Mumbai Indians smashed 84 runs without losing a wicket in the powerplay against the Dehli Daredevils, now known as the Delhi Capitals.

7. Deccan Chargers 84/1 vs Delhi Daredevils

Adam Gilchrist took Deccan Chargers to a fantastic start. At the end of six overs, Gilchrist had raced to 74 off 25 balls and scored 84/1 in the powerplay.

8. Royal Challengers Bangalore 83/4 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle hammered the SRH bowlers to all parts of the ground in the year 2015, although they lost some wickets, RCB managed to score 83 runs in their powerplay.

9. Mumbai Indians 82/1 vs Kings XI Punjab

Jos Buttler and Parthiv Patel took Mumbai Indians off to a tremendous start against the Kings XI Punjab in the 2017 season of the IPL and changed down the target with ease.

10. Sunrisers Hyderabad 79/0 vs Kolkata Knight Riders

David Warner and Shikar Dhawan were on fire against KKR in the 2017 season, where the pair hammered 79 runs without losing a wicket in the Powerplay.

Read More: Top 10 scores in Indian Premier League history

Top 10 powerplay scores in the IPL

YearTeamPowerplay Score
2017Kolkata Knight Riders105/0
2014Chennai Super Kings100/0
2015Chennai Super Kings90/0
2011Kochi Tuskers Kerala87/2
2014Kings XI Punjab86/1
2018Mumbai Indians84/0
2009Deccan Chargers84/1
2015Royal Challengers Bangalore83/4
2017Mumbai Indians82/1
2017Sunrisers Hyderabad79/0
Top 10 IPL Powerplay scores

Read More: Best bowling figures in Indian Premier League history