Best bowling figures in Indian Premier League history

In the T20 format, it is not very common to see a bowler getting 5 wickets or more with only 4 overs (24 balls) to bowl. Over the years right from the start of the opening night, it’s it the bowlers who have won crucial games in the Indian Premier League. Spinners have become mighty effective in the T20 format and the pacers have started to develop more than 5-6 variations in their armoury. Let’s now have a look at the top bowling figures in IPL history. 

Read More: Top 5 highest individual scores in Indian Premier League history

List of Top 5 individual best bowling figures in IPL

1. Alzarri Joseph: 3.1 Overs – 12 runs – 6 wickets 

The record for best bowling figures in the Indian Premier League history belongs to a young pacer from West Indies, Alzarri Joseph. He dismantled the batting lineup of Sunrisers Hyderabad in a low-scoring match and picked up 6 wickets for just 12 runs in the year 2019.

Pakistan players were allowed to play back in 2008, Rajasthan Royals‘ Sohail Tanvir registered figures of 6/14 against Chennai Super Kings while playing for Rajasthan Royals in the first-ever season of the Indian Premier League.

3. Adam Zampa: 4 Overs – 19 runs – 6 wickets 

Adam Zampa was picked by the Rising Pune Giants franchise, he announced himself in style with a 6-fer for just 19 runs in just his second match in the league in 2016. He was vital in restricting Sunrisers Hyderabad to a total of 137/8 in 20 overs.

Anil Kumble had a brilliant game against Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2009 and still holds the record for the most economical spells in the IPL. He took 5 wickets against Rajasthan Royals while giving away just 5 runs in 3.1 overs including a maiden. The Rajasthan team got bundled out for just 58 runs while chasing 134 runs.

Ishant Sharma managed to pick up 3 wickets playing for the Deccan Chargers against Kochi Tuskers in the 2011 season of the Indian Premier League. He bowled only 3 overs in the game and the opponents got bundled out.

Read More: David Warner to lead Delhi Capitals in the IPL 2023

MIAlzarri Joseph3.4 -12 – 6SRH
RRSohail Tanvir4 – 14 – 6CSK
RPSAdam Zampa4 – 19 – 6SRH
RCBAnil Kumble3.1 – 5 – 5RR
SRHIshant Sharma3 – 12 – 5KTK

Read More: Top 10 scores in Indian Premier League history