NBA – Players with most regular season MVP award

MVP stands for Most Valuable Player and is awarded to the best player from the regular season. Over the years, there have been a lot of household names who went on to win the prestigious prize. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar won the award six times. Bill Russell and Michael Jordan share the second spot with five MVP awards. Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James take third place with four MVP awards to their name.

Data Last Updated: July 22, 2022
PlayerTeamYearMVP Award
Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks, Los Angeles Lakers1971, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1977, 19806
Bill RussellBoston Celtics1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 19655
Michael JordanChicago Bulls1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 19985
Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia Warriors, Philadelphia 76ers1960, 1966, 1967, 19684
LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers, Miami Heat2009, 2010, 2012, 20134
Moses MaloneHouston Rockets, Philadelphia 76ers1979, 1982, 19833
Larry BirdBoston Celtics1984, 1985, 19863
Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers1987, 1989, 19903
Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks1956, 19592
Karl MaloneUtah Jazz1997, 19992
Tim DuncanSan Antonio Spurs2002, 20032
Steve NashPhoenix Suns2005, 20062
Stephen CurryGolden State Warriors2015, 20162
Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks2019, 20202
Nikola JokićDenver Nuggets2021, 20222