Badminton Stats: List of all time winners of Malaysia Masters

Since its inception in 2009, the Malaysia Masters badminton tournament has steadily gained prestige, reaching the Super 500 rank and previously holding the Grand Prix Gold status. The prize pool for this prestigious event has risen from an initial US$120,000 to the current amount of US$420,000. Under the Badminton World Federation (BWF)’s event hierarchy, the Malaysia Masters has been classified as a BWF World Tour Super 500 event, one of only seven such events, since 2018. Over the years, the competition has been hosted in various Malaysian cities, adding to its diverse appeal.

Johor Bahru was the first city to host the tournament and has had the privilege of organizing it again in 2012 and 2014. Other host cities include Alor Setar in 2011, the capital city Kuala Lumpur from 2013 and then again from 2018 to 2020, followed by 2022-2023 marking the most recent edition. The tournament was also held in Kuching in 2015, Bayan Baru, Penang in 2016, and Sibu in 2017.

Read More-Badminton Stats: Which are the nations that have won the Sudirman Cup?

Recent edition of the Malaysia Masters

Recognized as the Perodua Malaysia Masters 2023 presented by Daihatsu due to sponsorship reasons, the Malaysia Masters 2023 is a prominent badminton competition set to take place at Axiata Arena in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, between 23rd and 28th May 2023. With an impressive prize fund of US$420,000, this tournament has attracted many elite players.

The 2023 Malaysia Masters marks the second Super 500 event after the Indonesia Masters and the eleventh contest in the 2023 BWF World Tour. The event is overseen by the Badminton Association of Malaysia. In the 2022 edition, Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo and An Se-Young took home the men’s and women’s singles titles. Fajar Alfian/ Muhammad Rian Ardianto and Chen Qingchen/ Jia Yifan won the men’s and women’s doubles titles respectively, with Zheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong claiming the mixed doubles. Lee Chong Wei holds the record of winning the maximum titles in the event.

List of all time winners of Malaysia Masters from beginning to date

With the Malaysia Masters 2023 edition already started, let’s take a look at the past winners of the competition.

YearMen’s singlesWomen’s singlesMen’s doublesWomen’s doublesMixed doubles
2022Chico Aura Dwi WardoyoAn Se-youngFajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian ArdiantoChen Qingchen and Jia YifanZheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong
2020Kento MomotaChen YufeiKim Gi-jung and Lee Yong-daeLi Wenmei and Zheng YuZheng Siwei and Huang Yaqiong
2019Son Wan-hoRatchanok IntanonMarcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya SukamuljoYuki Fukushima and Sayaka HirotaYuta Watanabe and Arisa Higashino
2018Viktor AxelsenRatchanok IntanonFajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian ArdiantoChristinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter JuhlTang Chun Man and Tse Ying Suet
2017Ng Ka LongSaina NehwalBerry Angriawan and HardiantoJongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda PrajongjaiTan Kian Meng and Lai Pei Jing
2016Lee Chong WeiP. V. SindhuMarcus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya SukamuljoMisaki Matsutomo and Ayaka TakahashiZheng Siwei and Li Yinhui
2015Lee Hyun-ilNozomi OkuharaKenta Kazuno and Kazushi YamadaChristinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter JuhlJoachim Fischer Nielsen and Christinna Pedersen
2014Simon SantosoYao XueDanny Bawa Chrisnanta and Chayut TriyachartHuang Yaqiong and Yu XiaohanLu Kai and Huang Yaqiong
2013Alamsyah YunusP. V. SindhuGoh V Shem and Lim Khim WahRizki Amelia Pradipta and Pia Zebadiah BernadetPraveen Jordan and Vita Marissa
2012Lee Chong WeiBusanan OngbamrungphanKoo Kien Keat and Tan Boon HeongChin Eei Hui and Wong Pei TtyChan Peng Soon and Goh Liu Ying
2011Lee Chong WeiWang XinKoo Kien Keat and Tan Boon HeongMiyuki Maeda and Satoko SuetsunaTontowi Ahmad and Liliyana Natsir
2010Lee Chong WeiYip Pui YinMarkis Kido and Hendra SetiawanDuanganong Aroonkesorn and Kunchala VoravichitchaikulDevin Lahardi Fitriawan and Liliyana Natsir
2009Lee Chong WeiWang ShixianKoo Kien Keat and Tan Boon HeongMa Jin and Wang XiaoliZheng Bo and Ma Jin

More Badminton Stats-

  1. Badminton Asia Championships: Indians who have won medals at the event
  2. Asians who have won the Orleans Masters Badminton Tournament
  3. Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title