Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

Badminton Stats: Indonesians who have won the US Open

The U.S. Open Badminton Championships is an annual badminton tournament first held in 1954 when the American Badminton Association opened the U.S. National Badminton Championships to foreign competition. During the 1950s and 1960s, it often attracted the world’s top players.  The 2015 Yonex Suffolk County Community College US Open Championships, held in Brentwood, NY, attracted Malaysia’s superstar Lee Chong Wei as well as 9 others in the top 30 MS competitors. The 2023 U.S. Open will take place at Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States, from 11 to 16 July 2023. The tournament has a total purse of $210,000. It is a BWF Grade 300 competition. The tournament is known as Yonex Badminton Open due to sponsorship reasons. US Open 2023 will be the 69th edition of the tournament.

Who are some of the famous Indonesians to win the tournament?

1. Vita Marissa (Event- Mixed Doubles & Women’s Doubles, Year- 2012 & 2014)

Vita Marissa & Tony Gunawan became the US Open champion in 2012 by defeating Kenichi Hayakawa and Misaki Matsutomo of Japan in the Mixed doubles finals. The final scoreline stood at 21-13 and 21-10. However, this was not the only podium in the tournament in her career. Two years later in 2014 she again bagged two gold medals in the mixed and women’s doubles category. Marissa won the women’s doubles with Shendy Puspa Irawati. The duo defeated Puttita Supajirakul and Sapsiree Taerattanachai of Thailand. The final scoreline was 21-15 & 21-10. Vita won the mixed doubles with Muhammad Rijal. The pair defeated Maneepong Jongjit & Sapsiree Taerattanachai of Thailand. The final scoreline was 21-16 & 21-19.

2. Taufik Hidayat (Event- Men’s singles, Year-2009)

Taufik Hidayat became the US Open champion in 2009 by defeating Hsueh Hsuan-yi of Taiwan. The final scoreline stood at 21-15 & 21-16. However, this was his only podium in the tournament throughout his career. Nevertheless, due to his impeccable professional badminton career, he features in this list. Taufik had been an Olympic gold medalist and a former World no. 1 from Indonesia. He is considered to be one of the great men’s singles players in badminton history and has the nickname “Mr Backhand”.

3. Tan Joe Hok (Event- Men’s singles, Year-1959 & 1960)

Tan Joe Hok is one of the earliest Indonesian champions of the US Open. He won the tournament back-to-back in 1959 and 1960. Tan was one of the best singles players to come from south-east Asia. Hok formed a cadre of fine doubles players along with Ferry Sonneville. This entire lineage of players helped to dethrone the then-perennial Thomas Cup champions Malaya in 1958.

4. Christian Hadinata (Event- Mixed doubles & Men’s doubles, Year- 1988)

Christian Hardinata & Luis Pongoh became the US Open champion in 1988 by defeating Liem Swie King (Indonesia) and Prakash Padukone (India) in the Men’s doubles finals. The final scoreline stood at 7-15, 15-11 & 15-13. However, this was not the only podium in the tournament in his career. In the same edition, he again bagged a gold medal in the mixed doubles category. Hardinata won the mixed doubles with Ivana Lie. The pair defeated Lee Xiong and Yang Xinfang of China. The final scoreline was 9-15, 15-0 & 15-14. Christian’s success in doubles earned him recognition as one of the great doubles players in badminton history.

Who are the Indonesians to win the US Open? 

1959Tan Joe HokMen’s singles
1960Tan Joe HokMen’s singles
1962Ferry SonnevilleMen’s singles
1969Rudy HartonoMen’s singles
1969MinarniWomen’s singles
1969Retno Kustijah and MinarniWomen’s doubles
1971MuljadiMen’s singles
1988Christian Hadinata and Ivana LieMixed doubles
1988Christian Hadinata and Lius PongohMen’s doubles 
2018Chan Peng Soon and Goh Liu YingMixed doubles
1990Fung PermadiMen’s singles
1993Marleve MainakyMen’s singles
1994Ade Sutrisna and Candra WijayaMen’s doubles
1995Rudy Gunawan and Bambang SupriantoMen’s doubles
1995Hermawan SusantoMen’s singles
1996Joko SupriantoMen’s singles
1996Mia AudinaWomen’s singles
1996Sigit Budiarto and Candra WijayaMen’s doubles
1996Eliza Nathanael and Zelin ResianaWomen’s doubles
2000Ardy WiranataMen’s singles
2009Taufik HidayatMen’s singles
2012Tony Gunawan and Vita MarissaMixed doubles
2014Shendy Puspa Irawati and Vita MarissaWomen’s doubles
2014Muhammad Rijal and Vita MarissaMixed doubles

Read more badminton stats over here:

  1. Badminton Stats: What are the biggest achievements of India’s Men’s Doubles Pair, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty?
  2. Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won the Taipei Open
  3. Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Taipei Open
  4. Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won Canada Open

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.