Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title

India has a rich history in badminton, tracing its roots back to the 19th century, when the game was introduced by British military officers stationed in Pune, then called Poona. The modern version of the sport, originally known as “Poona,” soon gained popularity among the Indian elite, and in 1873, the first official badminton club, the Poona Club, was established. As badminton’s popularity grew, the sport spread across the Indian subcontinent, and in 1934, the All India Badminton Association was formed to govern and promote the game.

Over the years, India has produced many badminton legends who have left indelible marks on the international stage. In the 1980s, Prakash Padukone became the first Indian to win the prestigious All England Open Badminton Championships. Another badminton icon, Pullela Gopichand, won the All England title in 2001, and later established the Gopichand Badminton Academy to nurture the next generation of shuttlers. 

India’s success in badminton continued with the rise of Saina Nehwal, P.V. Sindhu, and Kidambi Srikanth. Nehwal became the first Indian woman to achieve the world number one ranking in 2015, while Sindhu won a historic silver medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics, later clinching the 2019 BWF World Championships title. Kidambi Srikanth, another prominent Indian shuttler, reached the world number one ranking in men’s singles in 2018. 

Read more-PV Sindhu’s achievements under her former coaches

What is the significance of the Swiss Open Badminton Tournament?

The Swiss Open Badminton tournament is a prestigious event that has been an integral part of the sport’s rich history since its inception in 1955. As one of the oldest badminton tournaments in Europe, it has attracted top international players for decades, offering them a platform to showcase their skills and compete for global recognition. In 2007, the Swiss Open reached new heights when it joined the Badminton World Federation’s (BWF) Superseries, elevating its status on the international stage. Today, as part of the BWF World Tour, the Swiss Open continues to draw top talent from around the world, making it a highlight on the badminton calendar.

Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title

Indian badminton players have consistently excelled at major international tournaments, including the Commonwealth Games, Asian Games, and the prestigious Thomas Cup. These achievements have not only brought glory to the nation but have also contributed to the growth of badminton as a popular sport in India, inspiring millions to take up the game. Among the prestigious tournaments where Indian shuttlers have excelled is the Swiss Open Badminton Tournament.

Saina Nehwal was the first Indian who clinched the title of the Swiss Open in 2011. She defeated South Korea’s Sung Ji-hyun by 21-13, 21-14 to accomplish the feat. Nehwal then successfully defended her title by winning the women’s singles title in 2012. After that, it was the turn of K Srikanth who beat one of the top shuttlers of the world, Viktor Axelsen, of Denmark. It was a three-set match which eventually ended in the favor of the Indian shuttler.

In 2016 and 2018, HS Prannoy and Sameer Verma took the men’s singles title in the Swiss Open. Finally, in 2022, PV Sindhu clinched the Swiss Open women’s singles title in 2018. Sindhu’s victory followed her historic silver medal at the 2016 Rio Olympics and her 2019 BWF World Championships title. Her Swiss Open triumph added to her impressive list of accomplishments and underscored her status as a force to be reckoned with in international badminton.

2011Saina NehwalWomen’s SinglesSung Ji-hyun21- 13, 21–14
2012Saina NehwalWomen’s SinglesWang Shixian21–19, 21–16
2015Srikanth KidambiMen’s SinglesViktor Axelsen21–15, 12–21, 21–14
2016HS PrannoyMen’s SinglesMarc Zwiebler21–18, 21–15
2018Sameer VermaMen’s SinglesJan Ø. Jørgensen21–15, 21–13
2022PV SindhuWomen’s SinglesBusanan Ongbamrungphan21–16, 21–8

Read more-Pullela Gopichand: The man who put Indian badminton on global radar