Badminton stats: Indians who have won at the Badminton Asia Junior Championships

The Badminton Asia Junior Championships is a tournament organized by the Badminton Asia governing body to crown the best junior badminton players in Asia. This tournament started in the year 1997 and had its inaugural season in Manila (Philippines). Over the years, this competition has produced many promising talents from Malaysia, China and South Korea in particular. Badminton Asia Junior Championship has been a kind of launching pad for many budding shuttlers.

The world champions who dominated the singles category in men’s singles- Lee Chong Wei & Lin Dan have both risen through the ranks of this tournament. Not to forget, the Indonesian legend Taufik Hidayat also came through this tournament. Hidayat was the inaugural champion of this tournament in the singles category. Over the years, the tournament has been dominated by majorly 4 countries: China (208), South Kora (98), Indonesia (83) & Malaysia (63). However, in recent years, India’s performance has also improved a lot. The former world No. 2 P.V. Sindhu has won the tournament on a couple of occasions in the past. The 2022 Thomas Cup winner, Lakshya Sen has also climbed the podium on a couple of occasions. Added to this elite list is also the former world no. 1 from India Kidambi Srikanth.

2023 Badminton Asia Junior Championship: Indian Contingent

India gears up for the 23rd edition of the Asia Junior Championship. The continental championships will take place in Yogyakarta, Indonesia from July 7 to 16. Tara Shah and Ayush Shetty are among the key participants in the team. Tara Shah has demonstrated prowess in the girls’ singles section, capturing attention with her skilful play and determination. Ayush Shetty also secured his spot in the boys’ singles category. With the current world ranking of 20 in men’s singles in the BWF rankings and an impressive second position in the BAI rankings. Lakshya Sharma and Rakshitha Sree S also proved their mettle during the trials, securing the first position in the boys’ singles and girls’ singles categories respectively, the release said. They will be looking to be among the medals at the prestigious tournament.

Nicholas Nathan Raj and Tushar Suveer have shown impressive teamwork and coordination to secure the top spot in the boys’ doubles category. Samarveer and Radhika Sharma stood first in the mixed doubles category and booked their ticket for the Championships. The team comprises athletes who have showcased their remarkable performances during the Final Selection Trials (Junior) which was held at Karnal Singh Railway Stadium in New Delhi from June 4-7, 2023. These players will represent India in various categories, including boys’ singles, girls’ singles, boys’ doubles, girls’ doubles, and mixed doubles.

Sanjay Mishra, Secretary, BAI, said, “The players fought hard during the trials to earn their place in the team. The Asia Junior Badminton Championships provide a platform for young players to display their talent, compete at an international level, and gain invaluable experience.” He further added, “We will be calling the selected players for a two-week junior national camp from 22nd June to 4th July 2023. The camp will help the players to prepare well for the championships as well as it will strengthen the team bonding which is very crucial for the success in team events like this.”

Read More: Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title

Who are the Indian Shuttlers to win the Badminton Asia Junior Championships?

Over the years Indian shuttlers have come strength to strength in the Asia Junior Championship with other Asian teams. Let us look at some of them:

Host (year)CategoryAthleteMedal
Malaysia (2002)Girls Team Aparna Balan
Krishna Dekaraja
Aditi Mutatkar
Dhanya Nair
Bronze Medal
Malaysia (2009)Mixed DoublesPranav Chopra & Prajakta SawantBronze Medal
India (2011)Men’s SinglesSameer VermaSilver Medal
India (2011)Women’s SinglesP.V. SindhuBronze Medal
India (2011)Mixed teamB. Venkatesh
C. Rohit Yadav
T. Hema Nagendra Babu
Pratul Joshi
N.V.S. Vijetha
Shivam Sharma
Srikanth Kidambi
Sameer Verma
Gadde Ruthvika Shivani
Gauri Ghate
Daya Elsa Jacob
Tanvi Lad
K. Maneesha
P.V. Sindhu
S. Ram
Arathi Sara Sunil
Bronze Medal
South Korea (2012)Boy’s SinglesSameer VermaBronze Medal
South Korea (2012)Girl’s SinglesP.V. SindhuGold Medal
Thailand (2016)Boy’s SinglesLakshya SenBronze Medal
Indonesia (2018)Boy’s SinglesLakshya SenGold Medal

Read more badminton stats:

  1. Badminton Stats: Malaysians who have won the Singapore Open
  2. Badminton Stats: List of all time winners of Malaysia Masters
  3. Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Malaysia Masters title

Get the latest from by following us on InstagramTwitter, and YouTube.