Badminton Asia Championships: Indians who have won medals at the event

The Badminton Asia Championships, which have been held annually since 1962, were formerly known as the Asian Badminton Championships until 2006. The competition, which is run by Badminton Asia, the sport’s governing organization, strives to recognize and honor the best badminton players on the continent. The competition has been contested annually since 1991. The tournament originally rotated between team and individual formats, but the team competition was canceled in 1994. A dispute occurred during the 2003 tournament when China unexpectedly withdrew from the competition. According to Li Yongbo, the head coach of the Chinese national team, the decision was made because he wanted to give his athletes more time to relax since the competition did not offer ranking points for the 2004 Summer Olympics.

In 1962, the team competition was first introduced, and the event was last held in 1993. Badminton Asia established new men’s and women’s team championships in 2016 in an effort to bring back the team format. These contests additionally act as preliminary rounds for the Thomas Cup and Uber Cup (World Men’s and Women’s Team Championships Finals. In addition, Badminton Asia debuted the mixed team format Badminton Asia Mixed Team Championship (also known as the Tong Yun Kai Cup) in 2017. Since the Thomas & Uber Cups Finals and the Sudirman Cup are held every two years, these competitions have been made into biennial occasions.

Read More-Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title

Indians who have won medals at the Badminton Asia Championships

China (241) is the most successful team at the Badminton Asia Championships, having won 75 gold, 70 silver, and 96 bronze medals. Indonesia (139) and South Korea (98) are the second and third most accomplished teams in the history of the competition. On the other hand, India stands in tenth place in the medal table with one gold, one silver, and 17 bronze medals.

The only gold medal for India was won by Dinesh Khanna in the first edition of the event in the men’s singles. The 1965 Badminton Asia Championships, which Lucknow city hosted, saw India winning four more bronze medals – Suresh Goel in the men’s singles, Meena Shah in the women’s singles, Owen Roncon and Sarojini Apte, and A. I. Sheikh and Achala Karnik in the mixed doubles competitions. At the 1976 Badminton Asia Championships, India claimed its only silver medal in the form of Syed Modi and Prakash Padukone who won the men’s doubles event. 

Dinesh Khanna, Prakash Padukone, Saina Nehwal, and PV Sindhu have won the maximum number of medals at the event (two each). The 40th edition of the Badminton Asia Championships would commence on April 25 and run until April 30, 2023. Since the 2023 edition of the championships has already kicked off, let’s take a look at the Indian athletes who have won the gold medal at the Badminton Asia Championships since its establishment.

Year and Host CityEventAthleteMedal
1965 LucknowMen’s SinglesDinesh KhannaGold
1978 PekingMen’s doublesSyed Modi and Prakash PadukoneSilver
1965 LucknowMen’s SinglesSuresh GoelBronze
1965 LucknowWomen’s SinglesMeena ShahBronze
1965 LucknowMixed DoublesOwen Roncon and Sarojini ApteBronze
1965 LucknowMixed DoublesA. I. Sheikh and Achala KarnikBronze
1969 ManilaMen’s SinglesDinesh KhannaBronze
1971 JakartaMen’s doublesDipu Ghosh and Raman GhoshBronze
1976 HyderabadMen’s SinglesPrakash PadukoneBronze
2000 JakartaMen’s SinglesPullela GopichandBronze
2007 Johor BahruMen’s SinglesAnup SridharBronze
2010 New DelhiWomen’s SinglesSaina NehwalBronze
2014 GimcheonWomen’s SinglesP. V. SindhuBronze
2016 WuhanWomen’s SinglesSaina NehwalBronze
2018 WuhanMen’s SinglesPrannoy KumarBronze
2019 WuhanWomen’s SinglesSaina NehwalBronze
2022 ManilaWomen’s SinglesP. V. SindhuBronze
2014 GimcheonWomen’s DoublesJwala Gutta and Ashwini PonnappaBronze

Like Athletics? More Athletics Stats-

1) Athletics Stats: What are Sifan Hassan’s records in various events?
2) Athletics Stats: UK runners who have won the London Marathon
3) Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the women’s elite race in London Marathon
4) Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the men’s race in London Marathon
5) Athletics Stats: Top ten men’s best shot put marks of all time