Asians who have won the Orleans Masters Badminton Tournament

The game of badminton has its roots in Asia and has been practiced there for centuries. Asian nations’ success in badminton can be attributed in part to their rich cultural and historical heritage. They have a long badminton legacy that has been passed down from generation to generation, allowing them to become more knowledgeable about the intricacies of the sport. 

Badminton is a sport that is played worldwide but when it comes to Asian countries, China, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, India, and Singapore are among the nations where badminton is an extremely popular sport. Starting from significant investments in badminton facilities and training programs to establishing academies and centers of excellence to cultivate emerging talent, these countries have done it all. As a result, they have emerged to become one of the most dominant nations on the world level.

These Asian nations have produced some of the greatest Badminton players of all time. In the men’s singles, Lin Dan (China), Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia), Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia), and Kento Momota (Japan) are a few of the prominent names. On the other hand, Tai Tzu-Ying (Chinese Taipei), Akane Yamaguchi (Japan), Nozomi Okuhara (Japan), Chen Yufei (China), and PV Sindhu (India) dominate the list in the women’s singles.

Read More-Youngest medalists for India in the history of the Olympics

Significance of the Orleans Masters Badminton Tournament

The Orleans Masters Championships is an open badminton competition conducted in France that is now classified as a BWF Super 300 tournament. The tournament was established in 1994 and debuted as a regional competition before becoming a national competition in 1999. The Badminton World Federation recognized this competition, which was called the French International in 2012, as an International Series event and included it on the European circuit. 

The French International later changed its name to the Orléans International in 2015 to avoid confusion with the already well-established French Open hosted in Paris. The French International raised its level to International Challenge in 2013. In June 2017, the Badminton World Federation (BWF) recognized the organizers’ candidature to conduct a higher-rating tournament. The Orléans International changed its name to Orléans Masters in 2018. Thus, they entered the exclusive group of the top 30 badminton competitions in the world as a BWF Tour Super 100 level event with a total prize pool of $65,000.

Asians who have won the Orleans Masters Badminton Tournament

The 2023 edition of the Orleans Masters will begin from April 4 to April 9 in France and feature many Asian competitors who will be competing to once again bring their nation to the top. Kenta Nishimoto of Japan, India’s Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty, and Febriana Dwipuji Kusuma and Amalia Cahaya Pratiwi are the top-seeded Asian shuttlers in the men’s singles, men’s doubles, and mixed doubles events. The 2021 champion in the women’s singles, Busanan Ongbamrungphan, will also be eyeing her second Orleans Masters title. As the competition begins shortly, let’s take a look at the previous winners of the Orleans Masters who are from Asian nations.

Year (s)AthleteTeamEvent
2012Anand PawarIndiaMen’s Singles
2013Rie Eto and Yu WakitaJapanWomen’s Doubles
2016Goh Jin WeiMalaysiaWomen’s Singles
2017Liao Min-chun and Su Cheng-hengChinese TaipeiMen’s Doubles
2017Asumi Kugo and Megumi YokoyamaJapanWomen’s Doubles
2018Shiori SaitoJapanWomen’s Singles
2019Koki WatanabeJapanMen’s Singles
2019Saena KawakamiJapanWomen’s Singles
2019Lee Yang and Wang Chi-linChinese TaipeiMen’s Doubles
2021Busanan OngbamrungphanThailandWomen’s Singles
2021Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda PrajongjaiThailandWomen’s Doubles
2022Putri Kusuma WardaniIndonesiaWomen’s Singles
2022Terry Hee and Tan Wei HanSingaporeMixed Doubles

Read More-Badminton Stats: Indians who have won the Swiss Open Title