Winners of Tokyo Marathon since its beginning to date

The World Marathon Majors (WMM) is a championship-style event for marathon runners that debuted in 2006. It is sometimes known as the Abbott World Marathon Majors for sponsorship reasons. The series is a points-based competition built around the six major marathons regarded to be the most prestigious on the calendar, including annual races in Tokyo, Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago, and New York. Furthermore, each edition of the series acknowledges and incorporates the results of the main global championship marathon conducted that year, usually on a one-time lapped course.

The Tokyo Marathon is among the six World Marathon Majors. It has been run every year since 2007 with the exception of 2020 when the COVID-19 pandemic forced it to be an elite-only event. In 2021, it was postponed to 2022 owing to the pandemic’s prolonged consequences. The Tokyo Marathon took the place of the Tokyo International Marathon, which was staged in even years from 1980 to 2006, and the Tokyo – New York Friendship International Marathon, which was conducted in odd years.

Read more: Eliud Kipchoge – A Supreme Athlete and True Environmentalist

Athletes who have claimed the title of Tokyo Marathon

The 2023 edition of the Tokyo Marathon took place on March 5, 2023. This was the 16th iteration of the competition. The world athletics had given the competition the recognition of a Platinum level event for this edition. Around 38,000 runners, including Japanese and overseas athletes, took part in the competition. In the men’s category, Deso Gelmisa of Ethiopia claimed the marathon title, while Kenya’s Rosemary Wanjiru won the women’s division. As the event has been successfully conducted, let’s take a dive into the history of the event. We will look at all the winners of the Tokyo Marathon in the elite categories since its commencement. 

YearMen’s winnerTimeWomen’s winnerTime
2007Daniel Njenga (Kenya)2:09:45Hitomi Niiya (Japan)2:31:01
2008Viktor Röthlin (Switzerland)2:07:23Claudia Dreher (Germany)2:35:35
2009Salim Kipsang (Kenya)2:10:27Mizuho Nasukawa (Japan)2:25:38
2010Masakazu Fujiwara (Japan)2:12:19Alevtina Biktimirova (Russia)2:34:39
2011Hailu Mekonnen (Ethiopia)2:07:35Noriko Higuchi (Japan)2:28:49
2012Michael Kipyego (Kenya)2:07:37Atsede Habtamu (Ethiopia)2:25:28
2013Dennis Kimetto (Kenya)2:06:50Aberu Kebede (Ethiopia)2:25:34
2014Dickson Chumba (Kenya)2:05:42Tirfi Tsegaye (Ethiopia)2:22:23
2015Endeshaw Negesse (Ethiopia)2:06:00Birhane Dibaba (Ethiopia)2:23:15
2016Feyisa Lilesa (Ethiopia)2:06:56Helah Kiprop (Kenya)2:21:27
2017Wilson Kipsang (Kenya)2:03:58Sarah Chepchirchir (Kenya)2:19:47
2018Dickson Chumba (Kenya)2:05:30Birhane Dibaba (Ethiopia)2:19:51
2019Birhanu Legese (Ethiopia)2:04:48Ruti Aga (Ethiopia)2:20:40
2020Birhanu Legese (Ethiopia)2:04:15Lonah Chemtai Salpeter (Israel)2:17:45
2022Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya)2:02:40 CRBrigid Kosgei (Kenya)2:16:02 CR
2023Deso Gelmisa (Ethiopia)2:05:22Rosemary Wanjiru (Kenya) 2:16:28

(CR refers to Course Record)

Read more: Tokyo Marathon 2023: Find Out the Winners and Complete Results