Cricket, Football, Tennis, Basketball, Player Stats, Team Stats and more

Athletics Stats: Winners of the Diamond League Doha 2023 event-wise

The Diamond League 2023 kicked off on May 5, 2023, with the Doha leg which featured 15 reigning World and Olympic gold medalists. The event included a total of 14 Diamond League events, eight for men and six for women. The Diamond League Doha 2023 witnessed numerous meet records being created as one of the premier World Athletics series began. The league will now move next to Rabat in Morocco which is slated to take place on May 28, 2023. The prestigious Diamond League will conclude on September 16 and 17, 2023, with the final taking place in Eugene, Oregon, in the United States.

Highlights from the Diamond League Doha 2023

At the Diamond League Doha 2023, the men’s discus throw saw reigning World champion Kristjan Ceh dominate the competition with an astounding opening throw of 70.89m. Ceh’s impressive effort remained unbeaten throughout the day, with the athlete again coming close to his mark in round five with a 70.70m throw. The Tokyo Olympics 2020 champion Daniel Stahl finished second with a 67.14m throw, while Sam Mattis of the USA secured third place with 64.69m. 

In the men’s 3000m, Ethiopia’s Lamecha Girma faced fierce competition from global champions in various categories but managed to secure victory in the final kilometer. Girma edged ahead of Berihu Aregawi and Olympic 10,000m champion Selemon Barega who finished third. The Tokyo Olympics champion in the men’s 3000m steeplechase Soufiane El Bakkali came in fourth.

Read More-Athletics Stats: Greatest Men Long Jumpers of all time

The women’s 100m race featured a record-breaking performance by Sha’Carri Richardson, who won with a world-leading time of 10.76 seconds. Jamaican superstar Shericka Jackson and British sensation Dina Asher-Smith finished second and third, respectively. In the men’s 100m event, world champion Fred Kerley emerged victorious in the 200m race with a season’s best time of 19.92 seconds, narrowly defeating US teammate and Olympic silver medalist Kenny Bednarek.

In the men’s javelin throw, India’s first Olympic track and field champion, Neeraj Chopra, triumphed over Tokyo silver medalist Jakub Vadlejch and two-time World Champion Anderson Peters. Neeraj clinched victory with an impressive 88.67m throw to emerge as the winner of the Diamond League Doha 2023 leg. In the men’s triple jump, reigning Olympic champion Pedro Pichardo triumphed with a jump of 17.91 m (wind-assisted). The last event, i.e., the women’s 1500m also saw the two-time Olympic champion Faith Kipyegon clinching a comprehensive win.

Winners of the Diamond League Doha 2023 event-wise

Women’s Pole VaultKatie Moon (4.81 m)Tina Šutej (4.76 m)Sandi Morris (4.71 m)
Men’s Discus ThrowKristjan Ceh (70.89 m)Daniel Stahl (67.14 m)Sam Mattis (64.69 m)
Men’s Triple JumpPedro Pichardo (17.91 m)Hugues Fabrice Zango (17.81 m)Andy Díaz Hernandez (17.80 m)
Women’s 400mMarileidy Paulino (50.51 s)Shamier Little (50.84 s)Natalia Kaczmarek (51.64 s)
Women’s 3000m SteeplechaseWinfred Yavi (9:04.38)Sembo Alemayehu (9:05.83)Faith Cherotich (9:06.43)
Men’s High JumpJuVaughn Harrison (2.32)Woo Sang-hyeok (2.27)Mutaz Essa Barshim (2.24)
Men’s 400m HurdlesRai Benjamin (47.78 s)CJ Allen (47.93 s)Wilfried Happio (49.12 s)
Men’s Javelin ThrowNeeraj Chopra (88.67 m)Jakub Vadlejch (88.63 m)Anderson Peters (85.88 m)
Women’s 100m HurdlesJasmine Camacho-Quinn (12.48 s)Alaysha Johnson (12.66 s)Nia Ali (12.69 s)
Men’s 800mSlimane Moula (1:46.06)Wyclife Kinyamal (1:46.61)Djamel Sedjati (1:46.97)
Women’s 100mSha’Carri Richardson (10.76 s)Shericka Jackson (10.85 s)Dina Asher-Smith (10.98 s)
Men’s 3000mLamecha Girma (7:26.18)Selemon Barega (7:27.16)Berihu Aregawi (7:27.61)
Men’s 200mFred Kerley (19.92 s)Kenny Bednarek (20.11 s)Aaron Brown (20.20 s)
Women’s 1500mFaith Kipyegon (3:58.57)Diribe Welteji (3:59.34)Freweyni Hailu (4:00.29)

Athletics Stats-

  1. Athletics Stats: Most Diamond League Titles won by an athlete
  2. Athletics Stats: Who won the Diamond League 2022 Final in Zurich?
  3. Neeraj Chopra: What are the Olympic champion’s top ten best throws?
  4. Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Stats: What are her top ten best 100-meter timings?