Athletics Stats: Who won the Diamond League 2022 Final in Zurich?

The Diamond League is one of the highest athletics meetings organized by the World Athletics (previously known as the IAAF or International Association of Athletics Federations). It consists of fourteen meetings – thirteen legs and the big finale. Founded in the year 2010, it replaced the IAAF Golden League, which was staged every year since 1998. The deal with Wanda Group, which came into existence in December 2019, led to the creation of the full sponsorship name the Wanda Diamond League.

The aim of the Diamond League was to boost the global appeal of athletics’ while the Golden League was established to raise the prominence of the top European athletics tournaments. The series now includes tournaments in China, Qatar, Morocco, and the United States in addition to the founding members of the Golden League (except for Berlin) and other classic European competitions.

Diamond League 2023

The 14th edition of the Diamond League is all set to kick off with the Doha leg on May 5, 2023. Many Olympic and World Championships medalists like Shericka Jackson, Neeraj Chopra, Fred Kerley, Daniel Ståhl, Kristjan Čeh, Katie Moon, Katerina Stefanidi, Dina Asher-Smith, Kenny Bednarek, and Michael Norman are among the star-studded field who are participating in the Diamond League 2023 Doha leg.

The league will then move to Rabat in Morocco which will be taking place on May 28, 2023. The 14-series event will end at the Hayward Field in Eugene in the United States where the final will be held on September 16 and 17, 2023. This will be the first time when a Diamond League final will be happening in the USA. Shenzhen, the Chinese city, will host a Diamond League event for the first time.

Read More-Athletics Stats: Top ten men’s best shot put marks of all time

Highlights from the Diamond League 2022

Nine athletes were successful in defending their Diamond Trophy titles in 2022, including pole vault world record holder Mondo Duplantis, triple jump athlete Yulimar Rojas of Venezuela, and 400m hurdles standout Femke Bol of the Netherlands. However, 19 athletes, including Norwegian 1500m champion Jakob Ingebrigtsen and Ukrainian high jumper Yaroslava Mahuchikh, celebrated their first triumphs in the Diamond Trophy.

With his victory in the men’s javelin, Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra became the first Indian athlete to claim the Diamond Trophy. Alison Dos Santos’ victory in the 400-meter hurdles made him the second Brazilian to win the Diamond League title. The legendary sprinter from Jamaica, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, won her fifth Diamond League title in the women’s 100-meter event, while Kirani James won the men’s 400-m title after 11 years of winning the first-ever title.

On the other hand, Usain Bolt‘s 10-year-old meeting record in the 200m was beaten by Noah Lyles. Mondo Duplantis and Tobi Amusan also broke meeting records on their way to winning the competition. With a throw of 23.23 meters, American shot putter Joe Kovacs broke the Diamond League record and collected his first Diamond Trophy since 2015. With the 2023 edition of the Diamond League all set to start, let’s take a look at the Diamond League 2022 winners.

Who won the Diamond League 2022 Final in Zurich?

DisciplineMen (Country)Women (Country)
100 mTrayvon Bromell (USA)Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (USA)
200 mNoah Lyles (USA)Shericka Jackson (Jamaica)
400 mKirani James (Grenada)Marileidy Paulino (Dominican Republic)
800 mEmmanuel Kipkirui Korir (Kenya)Mary Moraa (Kenya)
1500 mJakob Ingebrigtsen (Norway)Faith Kipyegon (Kenya)
3000/5000 mNicholas Kipkorir (Kenya)Beatrice Chebet (Kenya)
3000 m SteeplechaseSoufiane El Bakkali (Morocco)Werkuha Getachew (Ethiopia)
110 m HurdlesGrant Holloway (USA)Tobi Amusan (Nigeria)
400 m HurdlesAlison Dos Santos (Brazil)Femke Bol (Netherlands)
High JumpGianmarco Tamberi (Italy)Yaroslava Mahuchikh (Ukraine)
Pole VaultArmand Duplantis (Sweden)Nina Kennedy (Australia)
Long JumpMiltiadis Tentoglou (Greece)Ivana Vuleta (Serbia)
Triple JumpAndy Diaz Hernandez (Cuba)Yulimar Rojas (Venezuela)
Shot PutJoe Kovacs (USA)Chase Ealey (USA)
Discus ThrowKristjan Ceh (Slovenia)Valarie Allman (USA)
Javelin ThrowNeeraj Chopra (India)Kara Winger (USA)

More Athletics Stats –
1) Neeraj Chopra: What are the Olympic champion’s top ten best throws?
2) Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce Stats: What are her top ten best 100-meter timings?
3) Athletics Stats: Women’s 3000m Steeplechase winners at the World Championships
4) Athletics Stats: USA women who have won the 400m hurdles event at the Olympics
5) Athletics Stats: Greatest Men Long Jumpers of all time