Athletics Stats: UK runners who have won the London Marathon

The London Marathon is an annual marathon running event and the second-largest road race in the United Kingdom (UK), following the Great North Run. The concept for this event originated at the Dysart Arms, a gastropub near Richmond, where members of a running club discussed their experiences at the New York City Marathon. Inspired by the event, former Olympic champion and journalist Chris Brasher and athlete John Disley attended the event in 1979 and later decided to create a similar event in London. They co-founded the London Marathon in 1981, which rapidly gained popularity, with over 22,000 participants applying for the inaugural race.

Throughout the years, the London Marathon has witnessed several remarkable performances, resulting in numerous course records being set. Eliud Kipchoge, who is regarded as the greatest marathoner of all time, holds the men’s course record with an impressive time of 2:02:37, achieved in 2019. Meanwhile, Paula Radcliffe from the United Kingdom still holds the women’s course record with a finish time of 2:15:25, set in 2005. In 2022, Swiss athlete Marcel Hug set the men’s wheelchair race course record with a time of 1:26:27. Concurrently, Manuela Schär, another Swiss competitor, broke the women’s wheelchair course record by finishing in 1:39:52.

Read More-Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the men’s race in London Marathon

Athletes from United Kingdom (UK) who have won the London Marathon

It is interesting to note that the first athlete from the United Kingdom to win the London Marathon was Joyce Smith, who belonged to the women’s elite category. The men’s elite categories were the USA’s Dick Beardsley and Norway’s Inge Simonsen who finished the event hand-to-hand. The next year saw a UK men’s runner winning the race as Hugh Jones finished the marathon with a timing of 2:09:24. In the women’s elite race, Joyce Smith defended her title successfully as she secured back to back wins with a timing of 2:29:43. 

Paula Radcliffe is the most successful UK athlete in the London Marathon, having accomplished three titles in 2002, 2003, and 2005. In the year 2003, Paula also established a course record with a timing of 2:15:25, which still stands today. Owing to this run, she was also the world record holder in the women’s event from 2003 to 2019 for 16 years.

The London Marathon 2023 is scheduled to take place on 23rd April 2023, and the event will feature many prominent athletes like Amos Kipruto (Kenya), Kenenisa Bekele (Ethiopia), and Kelvin Kiptum (Kenya) in the men’s category, while Brigid Kosgei (Kenya), Peres Jepchirchir (Kenya) and Sifan Hassan (Netherlands) in the women’s event. This will also be home favorite and long-distance runner Mo Farah’s last marathon. With less than a day remaining for one of the World Marathon Majors, let’s take a look at the Athletes from the UK who have won the London Marathon.

1981Women’s Elite raceJoyce Smith2:29:57
1982Men’s Elite raceHugh Jones2:09:24
1982Women’s Elite raceJoyce Smith2:29:43
1983Men’s Elite raceMike Gratton2:09:43
1984Men’s Elite raceCharlie Spedding2:09:57
1985Men’s Elite raceSteve Jones2:08:16
1989Women’s Elite raceVéronique Marot2:25:56
1990Men’s Elite raceAllister Hutton2:10:10
1993Men’s Elite raceEamonn Martin2:10:50
1996Women’s Elite raceLiz McColgan2:27:54
2002Women’s Elite racePaula Radcliffe2:18:56
2003Women’s Elite racePaula Radcliffe2:15:25
2005Women’s Elite racePaula Radcliffe2:17:42

More Athletics Stats-

  1. Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the men’s race in London Marathon
  2. Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the women’s elite race in London Marathon
  3. Eliud Kipchoge: What are his best times in marathon running?
  4. Athletes who are record-holders in the six World Marathon Majors
  5. Athletics Stats: African gold medalists in marathon running in Olympics