Athletics Stats: Everything you need to know about the European Athletics Team Championships

The European Athletics Team Championships, formerly called the European Team Championships, is an international competition which involves the sport of athletics. The event is managed and overseen by the European Athletics Association which sees various European nations competing among each other. In 2009, the championships substituted the European Cup. The man behind the establishment of the European Cup was Bruno Zauli, the former president of the European Committee of the International Association of Athletics Federations. The European Cup was then held from 1965 to 2008, and then the European Team Championships took over until 2013.

What is the older Format of the event?

In 2008, a decision was made to revise the structure of the European Cup by introducing a new system comprising four leagues. Each league had 20 events for men and another 20 for women. The top two leagues, known as the Super League and First League, had 12 teams each, whereas the Second League had 8 and the Third League consisted of 14 teams. 

The teams’ scores were evaluated by adding together the points earned by both men and women, different from the earlier method where men’s and women’s points were calculated separately. Each year, the bottom three teams of the Super League were demoted and replaced by the top three teams from the First League. Likewise, the promotion and relegation happened between the first, second, and third leagues.

In 2018, the event underwent another transformation. It was resolved that the European Team Athletics Championships would take place in odd-numbered years. The Super League was reduced to only 8 countries, while the First and Second Leagues each contained 12 countries. 

What is the newer format of the event?

Recently, the European Athletics and the European Olympic Committee came to an agreement, which resulted in the ETC being a part of the European Games 2023. This is a new beginning for the championships as, unlike the past editions, individual medals – gold, silver, and bronze, will be decided to be awarded alongside team medals and cups. 

The best performances across all three divisions will assess the individual medals, and the recipients will be honored as European Games medalists. The events ranging from 100 meters to 800 meters will have two heats and the timings will be united for determining both team points and individual medal positions in the European Games. From now onwards, the European Team Athletics Championships 2023 will have three divisions – First, Second, and Third. 

The results of the 2021 edition have determined the participants for the European Athletics Team Championships 2023. The First division will battle it out in evening sessions from June 23 to June 25. The third division will compete during morning sessions, and the second division in evening sessions from June 20 to June 22. Besides the medals, the top three teams in the second and third divisions will be promoted for the upcoming championships, while the bottom three in the first and second divisions will face relegation.

Nations that have dominated the European Athletics Team Championships

Let’s take a look at the nations that have shown their dominance at the European Athletics Team Championships since its commencement.

2Great Britain504946145
14Czech Republic49922

(Since actual medals weren’t given previously at the European Athletics Team Championships, the gold, silver, and bronze medal implies the best three finishes at the event. The above table contains data from 2009 to 2021)

Read More-