Athletics Stats: African runners who have won the men’s race in Boston Marathon

The Boston Marathon is a marathon race conducted annually in several locations and towns in Greater Boston, Massachusetts in the United States. Since it was initially established in 1897, the event has been conducted on Patriots’ Day, which falls on the third Monday of April. The inaugural marathon race that took place during the Summer Olympics in 1896 served as its inspiration. The Boston Marathon is one of the most renowned road racing competitions in the world and is acknowledged as the oldest yearly marathon race worldwide. The course runs from Hopkinton in southern Middlesex County to Copley Square in Boston, making it one of the six World Marathon Majors.

Since the event’s start, the Boston Athletic Association (B.A.A.) has organized it every year except for 2020, when it was postponed because of the COVID-19 epidemic. Over 30,000 runners are registered for the Boston Marathon each year, including amateur and professional competitors from all over the world. The course’s difficult Massachusetts terrain and changeable weather conditions make it a thrilling and difficult event for the athletes. With just 15 participants when it first started in 1897, the competition has since developed into one of the most important and well-known sports events in the world. In the 2022 edition, there were a maximum of 30,000 runners. 

Read More-Athletes who are record-holders in the six World Marathon Majors

Winners of the men’s marathon from African countries in the Boston Marathon

Ibrahim Hussein established a world record and became the first Kenyan (and the first African) to win the Boston Marathon in 1988. Since his triumph in 1988, Kenyans and Africans have dominated the Boston Marathon. The only non-Africans to win Boston since 1988 were Gelindo Bordin of Italy in 1990, Lee Bong-Ju of South Korea in 2001, Meb Keflezighi of the United States in 2014, and Yuki Kawauchi of Japan in 2018. 

The current course record is held by Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya who finished the race with a timing of 2:03:02 in 2011. However, the record was not recognized by the IAAF (now World Athletics) as a world record since the Boston Marathon course didn’t meet the criteria to be eligible for the mark. With the Boston Marathon 2023 just a few days away, many African athletes are expected to dominate in the event once again with the likes of Eliud Kipchoge, the 2022 champion Evans Chebet, and Benson Kipruto competing in the men’s field. Now, let’s take a look at the marathon runners from African countries who have etched their names as the winners of the Boston Marathon.

1988Ibrahim HusseinKenya2:08:43
1989Abebe MekonnenEthiopia2:09:06
1991Ibrahim HusseinKenya2:11:06
1992Ibrahim HusseinKenya2:08:14
1993Cosmas NdetiKenya2:09:33
1994Cosmas NdetiKenya2:07:15
1995Cosmas NdetiKenya2:09:22
1996Moses TanuiKenya2:09:15
1997Lameck AgutaKenya2:10:34
1998Moses TanuiKenya2:07:34
1999Joseph ChebetKenya2:09:52
2000Elijah LagatKenya2:09:47
2002Rodgers RopKenya2:09:02
2003Robert Kipkoech CheruiyotKenya2:10:11
2004Timothy CherigatKenya2:10:37
2005Hailu NegussieEthiopia2:11:44
2006Robert Kipkoech CheruiyotKenya2:07:14
2007Robert Kipkoech CheruiyotKenya2:14:13
2008Robert Kipkoech CheruiyotKenya2:07:45
2009Deriba MergaEthiopia2:08:42
2010Robert Kiprono CheruiyotKenya2:05:52
2011Geoffrey MutaiKenya2:03:02
2012Wesley KorirKenya2:12:40
2013Lelisa DesisaEthiopia2:10:22
2015Lelisa DesisaEthiopia2:09:17
2016Lemi Berhanu HayleEthiopia2:12:45
2017Geoffrey KiruiKenya2:09:37
2018Yuki KawauchiJapan2:15:58
2019Lawrence CheronoKenya2:07:57
2021Benson KiprutoKenya2:09:51
2022Evans ChebetKenya2:06:51

More Athletics stats-
1) Winners of Tokyo Marathon since its beginning to date
2) Athletics Stats: Women’s 3000m Steeplechase winners at the World Championships
3) Athletics Stats: Gold medalists from USA in the 100m sprint in Summer Olympics
4) Athletics Stats: Top ten men’s best shot put marks of all time