Asian Games 2023: India’s sprint sensation Amlan Borgohain makes the cut

Leading Indian sprinter Amlan Borgohain will now be part of the country’s Asian Games 2023 team, despite initially being left off the squad, confirmed Athletics Federation of India (AFI) President Adille Sumariwalla on Monday. Initially, Borgohain’s name was notably absent from the 65-person athletics delegation announced by India’s sports ministry. Sumariwalla stated that Borgohain missed the original cut because his time didn’t meet the AFI’s qualifying standards for the games to be held in Hangzhou.

A gold medalist in the men’s 200m at the National Inter-State Championships in Bhubaneswar in this year’s June, Amlan Borgohain couldn’t reach the required Asian Games 2023 timing of 20.61 seconds, clocking in at 20.71 seconds instead. “Yes, he (Borgohain) is in the team. His name will be there in the new list,” Sumariwalla informed PTI.

At the age of 25, Amlan Borgohain already holds the national record for the men’s 200m with a time of 20.52 seconds. He’s also the record holder for the 100m dash with a time of 10.25 seconds. The updated list of participants will now feature Borgohain among the 65 track and field athletes in India’s massive 634-member team for the Asian Games. The sports ministry had recently revealed that athletics will be the most heavily represented sport for India at the event.

India in Athletics at the Asian Games

The sport had a significant contribution in the Asian Games 2018, winning 20 medals, which included eight golds, nine silvers, and three bronzes, making up a significant part of India’s total medal haul of 70. India is the third most successful nation in the history of the multi-sport event, with a combined total of 254 medals, including 79 gold, 88 silver, and 87 bronze medals. Japan (586) and China (462) are the two most accomplished countries in Athletics.

India’s Athletics Squad (initial) for the Asian Games 2023

Neeraj Chopra, Kishore Kumar Jena, Tajinderpal Singh Toor, Sahib Singh, Sandeep Kumar, Akshdeep Singh, Murali Sreeshankar, Jeswin Aldrin, Praveen Chithravel, Abdulla Aboobacker, Ajay Kumar Saroj, Jinson Johnson, Krishan Kumar, Mohammed Afsal Pulikkalakath, T Santhosh Kumar, Yashas Palaksha, Karthik Kumar, Gulveer Singh, Avinash Sable, Sarvesh Anil Kushare, Jesse Sandesh, Tejaswin Shankar, Ram Baboo, Man Singh, Belliappa Appachangada Bopaiah, Nihal Joel William, Rahul Baby, Muhammed Anas Yahiya, Muhammed Ajmal, Arokia Rajiv, Amoj Jacob, Mijo Chacko Kurian, Rajesh Ramesh, Arul Rajalingam, Shaili Singh, Ancy Sojan, Ankita, Parul Chaudhary, Annu Rani, Kiran Baliyan, Manpreet Kaur, Priyanka Goswami, Manju Rani, Vithya Ramraj, Sinchal Kaveramma Ravi, Swapna Barman, Nandini Agasara, Harmilan Bains, Chanda, Deeksha, Tanya Chaudhary, Rachna Kumari, Rubina Yadav, Pooja, Jyothi Yarraji, Pavithra Vengatesh, Sheena Nellickal Varkey, Nithya Ramraj, Soniya Baishya, Florence Barla, Subha Venkateshan, Aishwarya Kailash Mishra, Himanshi Malik, Jisna Mathew, Seema Punia

More on Athletics-
1. World Athletics Championships Stats: Who are the best performing nations?
2. Neeraj Chopra to travel to Switzerland for a preparatory camp
3. What’s next for the Indian men’s 4x400m Relay Team?